EN▾
Home › Guided hikes

Guided Mount Hood Hikes

A narrow dirt trail crossing an open volcanic slope toward Mount Hood
In short: none of the six Mount Hood products on GetYourGuide is a guided hike or a guided climb. Five are day trips by road from Portland that give Timberline Lodge 30 minutes to 1.5 hours, and one is a 1-hour flight. The closest thing to a hike in the listings is the Mt. Hood Day Tour’s 30 minutes at Timberline, described as “free time, hiking, self-guided tour”. Guided summit climbs exist through guide services holding USFS special use permits, but they are not sold on GetYourGuide. The trails on the mountain’s flanks are walked independently.
Guided hikes on GetYourGuideNone among the six products
Most time at Timberline1.5 hours, private tour
Gorge tour walkingMax typical ½ mile round trip
SummitTechnical climb, no trail (USFS)
Climbing permitRequired above 9,500 ft
Self-guided hikesMirror Lake, Trillium Lake, Ramona Falls

Three meanings of “Mount Hood hike”

The summit. The USFS states: “Mt. Hood is a technical climb - there are no trails to the summit.” The standard South Side route from Timberline gains about 5,200 ft, usually starts around midnight to 1 am, and crosses glacier, the Hogsback and a steep chute near the top. A Mt. Hood Climbing Permit is required for all travel above 9,500 ft. The climbing page covers the route.

The flanks. Real hikes lie on the lower slopes: Mirror Lake, Trillium Lake, Ramona Falls, Zigzag Canyon from Timberline, Paradise Park, Cooper Spur and the Timberline Trail around the whole mountain. They are hiked without a guide, each with its own pass rule.

The bookable day. What can be booked online is a sightseeing day that includes the mountain. The six products below are that, and the listings describe them accordingly.

What each product offers on foot

Guided climbs exist, but not here

Guided climbs of Mount Hood are run by guide services that hold USFS special use permits. The USFS outfitters page states that guides operate for “summiting the mountain” and that the forest is not accepting new proposals to guide in the Mount Hood Wilderness, which includes the summit. These climbs are booked with the guide services directly; they are not among the GetYourGuide products, and this page does not name or link them. Each climber still needs the climbing permit, bought on recreation.gov, which is unlimited and cannot sell out. The USFS gives the season as spring to early summer, and in late summer 2026 USFS climbing rangers stopped recommending summit attempts for the season because of elevated hazards, with rockfall the main one. The USFS climbing page has the current statement, and the do you need a guide page sets out the question.

The self-guided alternative

Trail time on Mount Hood usually means driving about 60 road miles from Portland and walking without a guide. Some options, with USFS figures:

Many trailheads need a Recreation Pass, and the Mount Hood Wilderness needs a free self-issued permit from 15 May to 15 October; the USFS passes page and the passes and permits page explain which. Wildfires closed a number of trails on the east side of the mountain in late summer 2026; check the Mt. Hood National Forest alerts page before setting out. The day hikes page and the when to hike page go further.

Walking time on the tours, side by side

Lists hiking timePortland: Mt. Hood Day TourFrom Portland: Columbia Gorge Waterfalls and Mt. Hood TourMt Hood & Columbia River Private tour from Portland
On foot at Timberline30 minutes, “free time, hiking”40 minutes1.5 hours
Walks in the gorgeMultnomah Falls, 30-minute walkLatourell Falls 20 minutes; Multnomah 30 minutesMultnomah Falls, 1 hour
Walking statedHiking in free timeMax typical ½ mile round tripNot stated
Guided hikeNot listedNot listedNot listed
Book thisBook thisBook this

Lists hiking timePortland: Mt. Hood Day Tour

On foot at Timberline
30 minutes, “free time, hiking”
Walks in the gorge
Multnomah Falls, 30-minute walk
Walking stated
Hiking in free time
Guided hike
Not listed

From Portland: Columbia Gorge Waterfalls and Mt. Hood Tour

On foot at Timberline
40 minutes
Walks in the gorge
Latourell Falls 20 minutes; Multnomah 30 minutes
Walking stated
Max typical ½ mile round trip
Guided hike
Not listed

Mt Hood & Columbia River Private tour from Portland

On foot at Timberline
1.5 hours
Walks in the gorge
Multnomah Falls, 1 hour
Walking stated
Not stated
Guided hike
Not listed
Local tip

For a short walk from Timberline Lodge itself, the Pacific Crest Trail passes the lodge and leads west toward Zigzag Canyon; a free self-issued wilderness permit applies there in season, and in summer no pass is needed to park at Timberline, per the USFS.

The closest bookable option

The Mt. Hood Day Tour is not a guided hike. It is the one listing among the six that names hiking at all: 30 minutes at Timberline Lodge described as “free time, hiking, self-guided tour”, as part of an 8.5-hour day with hotel pickup in central Portland. Visitors who want more time on the mountain can look at the private tour’s 1.5 hours at Timberline, or plan a day on the trails with the can you hike Mount Hood page.

Check availability & book
Mount Hood Hike is an independent guide. It is not the US Forest Service, not Timberline Lodge and not a guide service or tour operator, and it is not affiliated with any of the companies whose tours it describes. Trails, passes and permits are described from official sources; tour details come from each GetYourGuide listing. Booking links go to GetYourGuide and are affiliate links: a booking made through them may earn this site a small commission at no extra cost to the traveller. See the affiliate disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Are there guided hikes on Mount Hood?

None of the six Mount Hood products on GetYourGuide is a guided hike. The day tour lists 30 minutes of “free time, hiking” at Timberline Lodge. The trails are walked independently; the day hikes page lists them.

Can you book a guided Mount Hood summit climb on GetYourGuide?

No. Guided climbs are run by guide services holding USFS special use permits and are booked with them directly. Every climber needs a Mt. Hood Climbing Permit above 9,500 ft. The climbing permit page explains it.

Can beginners climb Mount Hood?

The USFS calls it a technical climb with no trails to the summit, and lists avalanches, rockfall, icefall and fumarole holes among its hazards. The beginners page covers the question.

How much walking is on the Mount Hood day tours?

The gorge tour’s listing gives a maximum typical walk of ½ mile round trip. The day tour lists a 30-minute Multnomah Falls walk and 30 minutes at Timberline. The which tour page sorts the tours by mobility.